keflex joint replacement prophylaxis

Operations and Administrations

The Ministry has five broad departments namely which are Administration and Supplies, Finance and Accounts, Budget, Fiscal Research and Debt Management;


The Ministry as at now has a total number of Ninety-Five (96) members of staff.

Department of Administration and Supplies

        This department acts as the coordinating department for all the others in the Ministry and is in charge of the general administration and personnel management of the Ministry.

Budget Department 

The Department has two major units namely:

  • Public Expenditure
  • Revenue Unit

Public Expenditure Department

The Public Expenditure Department main duties are to scrutinize Government expenditure to ensure compliance with extant rules and regulations guiding public spending and ensure proper authorization of all expenditure in accordance with the provision of current budget and to track records of all Government expenditure from Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) for proper accountability;

Revenue Unit

The Department majorly handles:

  • Collection, collation and analyzing revenue returns of various Ministries/Department/Agencies (MDAs) from time to time with a view to monitoring and assessing the performance of the MDAs in the area of revenue generations.    It also facilitate other processes that enhance global revenue generation like processing of Consultants’ fees, etc.
  • Processing of gratuities for Parastatals, Tertiary Institutions and Retired Staff
  • Other revenue related matters e.g. Contributory Pension Scheme, Bond issue etc.

Computer and Salary Unit

Computer/Salary Unit of the Ministry is saddled with the monthly preparation/processing of global salaries and salary related request for Civil/Public/Political Officers in the State including Subventions to Parastatals and Tertiary Institutions;


  • Staff strength on the Government payroll as at April, 2016 is 44,906 comprising civil service (10,814); Political (125) Post Primary Teaching Service (17,662) and Parastatals (1,647), Tertiary Institutions (6,631); NYSC (6,915); President/Members of Grade C Customary Court (477); Contract Staff Pensioners of Sport Council (607); Council of Obas’ (28);
  • Monthly wage bill (including pensions) as at April, 2016 is N3,613,599,804.02 including N150,300,562.78 being 25% subvention to six (6) Teaching institutions in the State;
  • Since September, 2015, Government had conceded 100% of whatever amount received from the monthly Federation Account to take care of salary/salary related and pension.

State Pensions Board

The Ministry supervises the State Pensions Board.  The Board routes through the office of the Honourable Commissioner of Finance for major requests and activities. As at October, 2016, there are sixteen thousand, seven hundred and eighty (16,780) pensioners on the payroll of the State.

Fiscal Research Department

The responsibilities of this department are:

  • To ensure prudence, transparency and   accountability in the Management of Financial resources of the State.
  • To channel public expenditure towards provision of key public goods, infrastructure, social and economic service.
  • To premise government spending on a credible expenditure management frame work
  • To institutionalization of the principle of sound financial management including policies that will enhance increase in Internally Generated Revenue (IGR)
  • To engage in practical investigation on the utilization of public fund.
  • Advise Government on any query raised by Auditor-General on the mismanagement of public fund
  • Advise on Debt management.

Debt Management Department

The Debt management department is a department under the Ministry that is saddled with the under listed schedules:

  • Maintain a reliable database of all the loans taken or  guaranteed by the State Government or any of their Agencies;
  • Prepare and submit to State Government a forecast of the loan service obligations for each financial year;
  • Prepare and implement a plan for the efficient management of the State external and domestic debt obligations at sustainable levels compatible  with desired economic activities for growth and development; and participate negotiations at realizing those objectives;
  • Verify service external debts guaranteed by the Federal Government in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Finance and Debt Management Office, Abuja;
  • Set guidelines for managing State Government  financial risks and currency exposure with respect to all  loans;
  • Advise the State Government on the re- structuring and re-financing of all debt obligations;
  • Advise the State Government on the terms and conditions on the monies, whether in local or foreign currency are to be borrowed;

Ministry’s Board/Council Membership

The Ministry is represented by the Permanent Secretary on the Council of the State Tertiary Institutions namely: LAUTECH, Ogbomoso; The Polytechnic, Ibadan; The Oke Ogun Polytechnic, Saki; The Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa; Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo; Oyo State College of Education, Oyo; Oyo State College of Education, Lanlate; Oyo State College of Agriculture & Technology, Igboora.

The Ministry is also represented on the Boards of the following bodies:

  • UPDC
  • The State Scholarship Board
  • The State Civil Service/Teaching Service Housing Loans Boards;
  • Pacesetter Micro-Finance Company Limited
  • Oyo State College of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Oyo State College of Health Technology

Ministry’s Direct Relationship with associated Agencies

The ministry through the Honourable Commissioner supervises:

  • the office of the Accountant-General which is mainly in charge of the State’s treasury;
  • the state Board of Internal Revenue;
  • the State Pension Board.